New Releases: 11-14/01/17

Well hello. It’s been quite a while. This particular post is waaaay overdue, as well as a couple other posts to wrap up January. But for those of you who don’t know, I’ve been away for quite a while due to exams and being busy with school and grades and real life things. Quite honestly, I’ve barely had the time to keep up with any new releases, never mind write about them. But I finished my last exam Monday morning and I have a quiet few days ahead of me, so I’ll definitely be writing more than a few new posts while I still have the time to do so. I am determined not to miss a week of this series, and you can expect regular posts from me from now on, since I no longer have to pull consecutive 16 hour study days (RIP me). It’s great to be back from the dead. I’ve missed a lot of music which I’m just now catching up on, but it’s nice to finally focus on something other than studying.

graphAs you can see, that particular week had really been divided neatly in half in terms of releases. That’s why, before I left, I covered the first half in a separate post. This post will cover the second half of that week, from the 12th to the 14th. But despite the crazy spike in releases that occurred on the 13th, there really ended up being fewer releases than I initially expected that were actually of the calibre I would consider to be decent enough for these posts.

Anyways, I’ve been keeping you all waiting long enough for this, so it’s about time to get started.

6. The Drip- The Haunting Fear of Inevitability

a2434730057_10

There were some really great releases in the second week of January, and this was not one of them. I was both surprised and not surprised when I saw how much hype this album was getting. For one, it was hyped far more than even Black Anvil, which is odd considering As Was was a pretty hot ticket item at the time. This was hyped way more than it deserves to be, but at the same time I do understand why it was loved so much, because it’s generic, simple and easy to digest–in other words, the perfect combination of traits to appeal to the masses. I’m not quite able to come out and say that it’s bad, but it’s just not very good, especially for a grindcore release. I only included this because of the mass discussion it generated when it came out. Before I saw that, I didn’t even plan on mentioning it.

5. Urskumug- The Throne For My Ego

a3447465972_10

Well, this EP was never actually completely released on Bandcamp, so I was only able to hear two tracks. And to be honest I wouldn’t say it’s anything earth-shattering, but it’s also not bad. These guys play something they call “tribal” death/black metal, but I couldn’t really hear where the tribal elements are supposed to come into play–not from what I was able to listen to, anyways. The style they play sounds somewhat like they tried to combine Heartwork-era Carcass with Sounds of a Playground Fading-era In Flames into a pretty typical black/death template.

4. Lord Vigo- Blackborne Souls

a2785620836_10

Lord Vigo are practically a brand new band still. The Archives don’t list their year of formation, but they have only one other release: a 2015 EP. An epic doom band from Germany, Lord Vigo describe themselves on their Bandcamp page with the words “A vague chimera of sound, the army of angry spirits has been reborn into the most psycho-reactive Doom formation of our times.” While I’m not too sure about that last bit there, their sound definitely does contain a patchwork of influence from NWOBHM bands and various other elements which combine into the form of some solid epic doom in the vein of the London doom quartet Age of Taurus. Their latest work is definitely worth checking out.

3. Condenados- The Tree of Death

a1583107988_10

I don’t know what’s with all the doom this week, but I’m not really complaining, either. Condenados have had somewhat of a cult following since their last release in 2011, from what I understand. What is immediately clear about their latest work is that they play a style of epic doom with very blatant Candlemass influences. Now, I recognize that Candlemass influence almost always creeps into epic doom since they’re such an integral band to the genre, but Condenados have really taken that to the next level here, with some serious occult vibes. Despite being Chilean, Condenados have some pretty strong European stylistic tendencies and those are really put to great use here.

2. Demonic Death Judge- Seaweed

a0214278371_10

So, these guys have apparently been around since 2009 and have released about seven different things over the years, but for some reason I’m just finding out about them now. Seaweed was my first experience with Demonic Death Judge, and it’s definitely something that will prompt me to explore their discography more in the future whenever I’m in the mood for some tight sludge/stoner doom. It’s heavy, it’s aggressive and it’s absolutely full of great riffs, so if you’re into that kind of thing, this is exactly what you’ve been looking for.

1. Black Anvil- As Was

a0228978707_10

Well, here it is. The fourth full-length release from NYC black/thrash legends Black Anvil. You know, I was quite surprised by how highly I ranked this. Not because it doesn’t deserve it–to say that would be purely ridiculous. I just normally don’t enjoy albums like this very much. But this? It’s another story. As Was is a sonic rollercoaster of an album. It’s incredibly versatile and has something for everyone, from the most close-minded purists to elitists to plebs. This is one of those times where even if you’re not a fan of the sound there’s no way to deny that this is a very solid album. I could quite easily go on about this to the point where I’d have to just turn this whole post into a review of it, but in the interest of time, suffice it to say you should not skip over this.

Summary

The second week of January, in its entirety, was a busy week for new releases. All in all, there were a lot of doom metal releases particularly in the second half of the week, but combined with the first half of the week black metal is still clearly dominant. The most popular weekday for releases this week was Friday, with Monday coming in as a close second, and the slowest day for releases occurred on Wednesday. Why do I include these things? Because I’m neurotic. Leave me alone.

graph2.png

Thanks for reading! I’ll be writing all day today and tomorrow so you can expect a few posts from me over the next few days.

 

 

Leave a Reply

