Sam’s Recent Listens: Volume 5

I’ve seen a few recent listens posts floating around, so I guess it’s time for another one of these. I’m really not in a blogging mood (nor do I actually have the time to make something interesting), so I guess what I’m saying is don’t expect anything fancy.

Incandescence- Les Ténèbres Murmurent Mon Nom

Québécois black metal is an addiction of mine, so this October release has naturally found its was to my playlist since it was dropped on the 18th. It’s lit. Accidentally falling asleep with this on, and then waking up to terrible freezing Canadian pre-winter weather, is actually really cathartic.

Age of Taurus- Desperate Souls of Tortured Times

This has been one of my favourite doom albums lately: solid traditional doom with an epic twist, from London.

Moonless- Calling All Demons

I tend to fall in and out of love with Moonless in rapid succession. These past few days I’ve listened to Calling All Demons so much that I made myself sick of it and don’t want to hear it anymore—specifically the title track—but I know it won’t last, because these guys are one of my favourite Danish doom bands.

Mammoth Weed Wizard Bastard- Y Proffwyd Dwyll

Seems like this has been on everyone’s Recent Listens lately, and for good reason. Listening to this album feels exactly like floating through a dream. This spent about two weeks on top of my doom AOTY list, but if I’m being honest, I don’t really think of it that way anymore. I suppose I’ll find out when I eventually revisit it, because I might have burnt myself out on it, but despite that I have nothing but respect for this trippy, swirling maelstrom of an album.

Anna Pest- Forlorn

This is another Québécois black metal solo project that I wasn’t really into right off the bat. At first glance, Forlorn is really nothing special, but I’m really enjoying it now. If I remember correctly, the album was intended to explore as many different styles of black metal as possible, so naturally a word I would use to describe it is diverse. It’s quite interesting and worth a listen, with some worthwhile ideas ranging “from the atmospheric to the vicious, the melodic to the depressive”.

Blazing Eternity- A World to Drown In

Some albums just seem to have healing properties, you know?

Trouble- Psalm 9

I don’t have much to say about Psalm 9 because it clearly speaks for itself. Revisiting old favourites is a great way to relax.

Katla- Ferðalok

This is some great Icelandic stuff that straddles rock and metal quite nicely (though sounds closer to rock to me). I stumbled across this trying to find music by the Danish Katla (for the next Global Doom post), so I came into this expecting stoner/drone and was a bit confused when it wasn’t what I was mentally prepared for. I’d comfortably call this a happy accident, because I’ve listened to it quite a few times since then.

Leave a Reply

