Sam’s Recent Listens: Volume 2

Today I thought I’d share a bit of what I’ve been listening to lately, since I’ve listened to a couple albums in the past few days that, in my opinion, deserve credit for being awesome. There’s just been so much great music to listen to lately- have you ever wished you could focus on listening to more than one album at a time, without the ensuing confusion and loss of appreciation?

Soliloquium- Absence

I’m actually listening to this as I’m writing. This album was released in February of this year, and it’s a great death/doom album. It’s got a lot of really cool moments on it, and it’s kinda one of those albums that just takes you on a journey as you listen to it. The one complaint I have is that there are some points where the guitar work could be improved, but despite that, I’ve been strangely addicted to this album lately. And there is a pretty amusing cover of The Cranberries’ Zombie near the end.

Baptism- V: The Devil’s Fire

If you haven’t listened to the new Baptism yet, you have a lot to catch up on, because it’s awesome. That’s all I have to say.

V: The Devil’s Fire on Bandcamp

71TONMAN- 71TONMAN

This sludge doom album was released back in 2013, but I had the pleasure of re-discovering this album when it turned up in my YouTube suggestions yesterday. I die at their song titles.

Akhlys- The Dreaming I


“>After reading Maria’s post yesterday, I checked this album out, and I’m really glad I did, because I’ve listened to it about 6 times between now and 4 AM this morning. I was surprised to find that it was still just as trippy and deep when I woke up as it was when I was sleep deprived and semi-hallucinating.

Morannon- Heir to the Dark Throne

A few days ago, I was listening to this demo, and I decided to make that post about Swedish 2nd wave bands. Of all the 18 demos/EPs/Albums I included, this is one of my favourites on the list, along with Nåstrond, Mörk Gryning and the next album I’m including in this post.

Arckanum- ÞÞÞÞÞÞÞÞÞÞÞ

The name of this album cracks me up. What kind of person would name an album “Thhhhhhhh”? That’s what I want to know. Jokes aside, it’s an amazing listen.

Paramnesia- Paramnesia

I just got into these guys, courtesy of Meadow. I’ve listened to a few of their albums in the past few days but this one in particular really stuck with me for some reason. It’s some pretty cool black metal, and if you haven’t checked it out yet, you won’t be disappointed.

Wraithe- The Theory of Truth

This is the debut EP of our very own CC. But that’s not the reason I’m including it in this list- I’m including it because it simply kicks ass. I’d include it even if I didn’t know CC at all. I really strongly recommend this EP.

Wraithe’s Bandcamp

Mithras- Behind the Shadows Lie Madness

This is Mithras’ third album I believe. This is definitely one of the best death metal albums I’ve heard lately, and I’ve been listening to it quite a lot because of Chesh and his endless dickriding. It’s great though, and I’m definitely gonna look into getting this one on vinyl.

Welp, that’s it for my noteworthy recent listens. At least for a little while.

Leave a Reply

