Sam’s Recent Listens: Volume 1

So, I’m going to hop on the bandwagon and make a post about what I’ve been listening to in the last week or so. Lately I’ve found that I’ve been listening to less new music, and spending more time revisiting albums I’m already really into. That’s probably due to the fact that I’ve been mostly listening to vinyl lately. Anyways, here we go.

Burzum- Det som engang var

I love this album. Since this is a classic, I don’t really think there’s much I could say about it that isn’t already widely known. Specifically the second side of the album is fantastic. This is something that I haven’t listened to in quite a while prior to this week, but lately I’ve been re-discovering it, and remembering why it’s considered to be the staple that it is.

Gris- Il Était une Forêt

I’m largely addicted to the Québécois black metal scene, and this week I’ve been listening to a lot of Gris. This album is ~60 minutes of pure hatred and depression. The production quality is a perfect complement to the content of the album. I honestly have nothing bad to say about this.

Candlemass- Epicus Doomicus Metallicus

Lately I’ve been really getting into a doom metal phase, and this is Candlemass’ best album in my opinion. Solitude and Crystal Ball are two of my favourite tracks on here. I introduced my brother to this album a while ago, and he’s really started to get into doom- especially epic doom. He’s been playing this album so much around the house that I’ve been listening to it all week second-hand, thus its spot on my list.

SubRosa- More Constant Than The Gods

I read quite a few metal magazines (even though most of them are just full of cringe), but every once in a while, you can find a couple true gems through them. SubRosa is such a gem. A flexi-disc of one of their singles, Key of the Eidolon, came in a recent issue of Decibel, and it turned me onto these guys. They’re a great sludge doom band. This entire album is a great listen from front to back, and it’s the type you have to listen to in one sitting.

Virus- Memento Collider

This is an album that was released in June. Virus is an avant-garde band from Norway, and this album easily makes it onto my list of 2016’s best releases. It’s brilliantly trippy. I think it would be particularly enjoyable for bassists since a lot of the bass lines on this album are pure fire.

Caladan Brood- Echoes of Battle

I owe Chesh for getting me addicted to this album. I’ve been listening to it practically non-stop. It’s constant. I’m starting to question my mental health based on how frequently I’ve listened to this. Fuck you Chesh.

Andrés Segovia

The best classical guitarist who ever lived. He is a huge influence of mine, and I’ve been listening to a wide variety of his work lately. I have a couple of his performances on vinyl and listening to him play is so relaxing that sometimes I’m convinced that I’m melting.

Mozart’s Requiem in D Minor

This is just powerful. It’s a demonstration of absolute mastery of every aspect of composition. I’m especially partial to the Lacrimosa movement.

Plöw- No Highness Below the Crown

These guys are a relatively small stoner doom band from Denmark, and this is their first album. I’ve been really getting into it lately, and if you’re looking for some new doom to check out, I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

